Forum latest

Global conference on internet freedom
General
Written by Danrok   
Tuesday, 22 May 2007 10:50
Amnesty International
Global conference on internet freedom

It's now a year since the launch of our global campaign against internet repression, and we've come a long way in putting issues of web censorship high on the agenda for organisations and governments worldwide.

But we need to do more.

Join Amnesty International and The Observer online for a unique, interactive global event.

When: Wednesday 6 June
18:30 (UK), 19:30 (Europe), 13:30 (EST), 10:30 (PST)
Where: Online at www.amnesty.org.uk/webcast

On 6 June we will use the internet to link activists from around the world to discuss the struggle against internet repression, and to celebrate the irrepressible human desire for freedom of expression.

We will also launch a news hub, that will enable you to link news stories about internet repression to the Irrepressible website.

The event will be chaired by BBC journalist, Clark Boyd.

  • Listen to a preview (Quicktime or RealPlayer required).
  • Find out more about other participants, including Jimmy Wales from Wikipedia and Sami Ben Gharbia, a Tunisian cyber-dissident.


Wherever you are, you can watch the debate live by webcast, ask questions, and make comments.

We hope you will be able to join us in cyberspace.

Best wishes

Nick Dearden
Business and Human Rights Team

Discuss this in the forums.

 

See also

None found.


Hardware | Windows | Linux | Security | Mobile Devices | Gaming
Tech Business | Editorial | General News | folding@home

Forum | Download Files

Copyright ©2001 - 2012, AOA Forums.  All rights reserved.

Alliance of Overclocking Arts

Links monetized by VigLink

Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either